Star

Some Questions about Storage Layer

Hello Everyone,
I am new in Nebula Graph.
1- According to documentation If we insert an edge that has same src,dest and rank but different property, we can read the last inserted data. Does it mean it is overwritten?
2- For example; I want to add multiple same edges between two vertices but different properties like date. How can achieve this?
3- When inserting an edge, can we add a constraint to check if src or dest vertex exists? If they don’t exist, I don’t want to insert edge?
Thanks

@rwer81 Thanks for all the questions. Before answering your question, let me explain how we store an edge. Edges are stored as key/value pairs. Each edge has a unique key, which is composition of four elements: src, dst, edge_type, and rank/weight. The value is the encoding of all properties. Only when all these four elements are same, the value will be overwritten.

So back to your questions

1. If all four elements are same, the new edge will overwrite the old one

2. Multiple edges with the same type could be achieved by using different Rank/Weight values. The existence of Rank/Weight is just for this scenario

3. Yes, this constraint can be added easily, but will hurt insertion performance

2 Likes

Thanks for reply @shermanye
Is there any way update rank as counter? For example each new edge added between same vertices, rank increases +1 automatically.
Also can you share an example for question 3?
Thank you

Is there any way update rank as counter? For example each new edge added between same vertices, rank increases +1 automatically.

It is possible to implement this feature. But I don’t think it’s necessary. An auto-incremental rank would mean it’s hard to remove any history. I would suggest the application to have control of the rank value. For example, a timestamp, or a transaction ID could be used as the rank value, so that the application can easily figure out the key for a specific edge